Breakfast with Mama, 2016

AramKim_BreakfastWithMama_02_vertical_72dpi

Things didn’t go quite as I had planned, but I stuck to my original schedule and went to Korea. I arrived on Monday evening, and three weeks later, I left on Sunday morning. It was the most relaxing and happy time I had in a very long time. Partly because I was under a lot of stress, it really comforted me to be with my family who loved me unconditionally and it cheered me greatly to reunite with friends who were always there for me. It was the priceless trip during which I rested thoroughly and this would support me throughout my life as some of the previous trips had.

Most of all, having breakfast each morning with my mom sitting at the kitchen table was my favorite time. Most of days, our breakfast was consisted with a homemade toast (mighty bread machine), a perfectly boiled egg (mom had her system), butter and homemade fig jam, couple of fresh strawberries, and a cup of instant coffee. The simplest, the heartiest, the most delicious. Having this delicious breakfast with mom while the sunshine sipped through the window was the food for my body and soul that I would never forget.

 

 

Author: Aram Kim

Children's book author/illustrator and designer. Debut picture book Cat on the Bus (2016, Holiday House); Second picture book No Kimchi for Me! (2017, Holiday House). This blog is for a record of memories through simple illustrations and memos, mostly on food.

3 thoughts on “Breakfast with Mama, 2016”

  1. Aram, I love every single one of your posts! How is it that your drawings go so far beyond mere photographs? & your writing furthers the magic! I wish you only the very best of luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

