Chicken Porridge

AramKim_ChickenPorridge_72dpi_signed
As the name of this blog suggests, I usually draw based on my memories. I want to say I’m not that nostalgic, but rather very future-oriented, or at least present-oriented. But in truth, I can’t deny I actually am very nostalgic. Hence, I draw food related to my favorite memories, re-living the moment.
But this time, what I draw, Chicken Soup – or Chicken Porridge, in Korean name, is what I was very longing for less than a week ago, and still kind of. Out of the blue, I came down with this horrific flu last weekend and suffered for almost an entire week quite intensely. For first couple days, I couldn’t really eat and had a zero appetite, but I knew I had to put something in my stomach in order to have some medicine at least. I longed for something soft, warm, and nutritious that will go easy with my flipped stomach. It wasn’t until later that I remembered this chicken porridge my mom used to make.
You use a whole chicken for a pot of chicken porridge. After boiling it for a very long time, with rice and some cloves of garlic, you cool the chicken down and tear it into smaller pieces. By the time the porridge is done, chicken is so soft, it melts in your mouth. You can go as fancy as you want, adding all sorts of ingredients to the porridge, but my mom’s chicken porridge was simple, basic, and so delicious. Just a simple bowl of white porridge, with almost no seasoning. We would have a small bowl of salt and pepper mixed, on the table, so that we can season our porridge to our own taste. Kimchi is always a nice addition to the porridge.
I’m 100% well now, but this time, I decided to draw this delicious simple meal that I wanted to have! Since I’m not big on cooking, drawing out something I want to have does give me a satisfaction of actually eating it – in a way. 🙂
Author: illustratedmemory

Children's book author/illustrator and designer. Debut picture book Cat on the Bus releases on July 30, 2016 by Holiday House. This blog is for a record of memories through simple illustrations and memos, mostly on food.

2 thoughts on “Chicken Porridge”

  1. Hi, I really like your blog. Each post you illustrate food and each piece of it connects with a memory. I love how the small things connect to a whole memory picture, and good food (with good description for reflection here) seems to do a well-done job for adding extra touches. I recently got nominated for Blogger Recognition Award. And I now nominate you 🙂 The rules are here: https://randomwanderingblog.wordpress.com/2016/07/18/blogger-recognition-award/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

