Breakfast with Daddy 1997-1999

AramKim_BreakfastWithDaddy_72dpi
There are things you don’t truly appreciate until much later. Unconditional love and support you get from your parents is one of them because it feels so natural when you are receiving them. I often thought of my parents’ support on whatever I chose to do, but it wasn’t until quite recent that I thought of the physical effort they must have gone through while I was in high school.
High schools in S.Korea are straightforward intense. I was supposed to get to school by 7:30 in the morning, school was over by 5 in the afternoon, but after one hour of dinner break, students were to gather again for a self study session until 10 at night. One goal for everyone was acing the national college entrance exam in November and enter a prestigious college. While I was going through this crazy routine for three years, my mom and dad went through the same crazy routine.
The school I attended was far away from home, by choice, about two hours away by subway/bus. So dad drove me, everyday, to, and from school. By driving, and especially because it was so early in the morning with no traffic, it took less than an hour to get to school. Mom packed my lunch everyday, waking up much earlier than rest of the family, and also packed dad’s and my breakfast before we left around 6:30 am. When we arrived in front of school, Dad and I would sit in the car quietly and eat the breakfast Mom packed for us. Most of the time it was ham, cheese, egg sandwich with lettuce, and milk. The sandwich was cut in four pieces, each piece wrapped carefully, and put together in a clean bag. After eating, I went to school, dad went to work. Then by the time I finished, dad would come from work (long after his work hour was over) and drove me home. We actually had a good time, though both were tired, spending so much time together in a car, everyday.
Among countless things my parents did for me, somehow this routine they had for three years especially strikes me as something noble and painful (though they would deny it was neither). But in the mean time, I’m sure what I know is just a tip of  iceberg of what they have done for their children.
Author: illustratedmemory

Children's book author/illustrator and designer. Debut picture book Cat on the Bus releases on July 30, 2016 by Holiday House. This blog is for a record of memories through simple illustrations and memos, mostly on food.

8 thoughts on “Breakfast with Daddy 1997-1999”

  1. I enjoyed your “Istanbul” post that I had to go back, now over lunch to read your last story . It was interesting to read and I admire you and your parents so much in this story. And your memory and description of the breakfast sandwich is perfect.

    Like

  2. I only have one question. Do you do your own illustrations. I find them delightful. Your stories too are very sweet. I love good memories of childhood. You obviously love food.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

